Charger 2.1 – First Ride

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Charger 2.1 – First Ride
  • I’ve just stuck a 2020 spec Charger 2.1 in my Yari and, as this sort of upgrade is often asked about on here, I thought I’d give some initial thoughts. Bike is a 2018 Mega and I’d already changed the spring to the 2019 Debonair 180mm previously, so, effectively I’ve got a 2020 spec Lyrik now.

Installation was pretty easy – took about an hour with a fair bit of faffing, and I’m no engineer/fettler, so I reckon most people could do it. Only confusing bit was the presence of an o ring in the bag that contains the rebound and LSC controls – it fits either control, but fitting makes both controls very stiff. The online installation instructions don’t show where this goes, either, so if anyone has an idea about this please let me know.

First thing I noticed when riding was that it requires a lot more rebound damping than the Yari – about 6 clicks slower. Once sag was set I took it on my usual route – a mix of rooty and rocky descents with some technical/very steep sections.

Small bump sensitivity is great, but not massively better than the Yari. It seems to be more controlled on medium to large repetitive bumps, where the feedback is less. It also runs higher in its travel than the Yari, which makes it a lot easier to ride on steeper trails with switchbacks where a diving fork can catch you out. LSC is also useable without compromising sensitivity – the Yari’s LSC control seemed to make the fork very harsh unless it was left open.

Overall the bike felt faster, but my times were all slower than a couple of days ago. Part of this can be blamed on a low sun that blinded me on at least a couple of corners per trail, plus I also haven’t got the settings/pressure perfectly dialed yet. I’ll report back after a few more rides.

JP

Premier Icon dirkpitt74
    Subscriber

Thanks for posting.
    Would be good to hear your thoughts after few more rides & fiddling.