Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Chapel Gate
  • FOG

I went up on Rushup Edge and down Chapel Gate, a ride I haven’t done for ages cos its usually so busy at weekends. Wow Chapel Gate really is a mess!
    It has been rough for years I know but it does seem worse than ever. I should have just carried on down Rushup and over roych.

crazy-legs

Yeah, I don’t bother with Chapel now. I was over Rushup in the snow last week, I could see the tracks of MX bikes that had come up it and then carried on down Rushup towards Roych.

Onzadog
    Free Member

I feel old now. When I started riding in the Peaks, Chapel Gate was a tarmac road with the odd broken bit along the way!

AndyPaice
    Free Member

“I feel old now. When I started riding in the Peaks, Chapel Gate was a tarmac road with the odd broken bit along the way! “

I too can still remember when it had a wide tarmac strip down the middle, bit like really grippy northshore 😉

will
    Free Member

Onzadog – Member
    I feel old now. When I started riding in the Peaks, Chapel Gate was a tarmac road with the odd broken bit along the way!

Wow, given it’s current state i find that so hard to picture. Still quite a fun/challenging decent. 😆

AndyPaice
    Free Member

used to be a tarmac farm road :-O

JonEdwards
    Free Member

Chapel Gate is awesome fun.

Not done it since the snow, so it might have changed again.

It really pisses me off though that EVERYONE (MX bikes, 4x4s, walkers, bikers, not seen any horses) seem to want to use the muddy track on the edge which is rapidly eroding away. The “old” path, where the tarmac used to be is a really good DH – fast, rough and plenty of variety, and perfectly rideable on any bike (although I suspect I’d suffer on a rigid!)

I agree it’s no longer cleanable as a climb though.

Onzadog
    Free Member