chainsuck- why is it happening

Home Forum Bike Forum chainsuck- why is it happening

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • chainsuck- why is it happening
  • andyl

using the old chain?

Premier Icon monkeysfeet
    Subscriber

No, new chain.

z1ppy

I found I got some (not much) chainsuck on my last new chainset until the chain has settled in with the chainrings.

K-Edge ACS (Anti-Chain Suck) device?

Premier Icon monkeysfeet
    Subscriber

What’s the k-edge? Where do you get t

hem? Thanks guys.

z1ppy

What is it? It’s a device that replaces one of your HT II spacers, so that the pins sit behind the chainring, stopping the chain riding up. I have no experience of the device but am sorely tempted to try it.
    Available from wiggle

Premier Icon P20
    Subscriber

Middleburn rings are pants. I put two set on my bikes, both brand new chains, (1 xtr, 1 kmc) both had chainsuck problems. Worst rings i’ve used. K-Edge has been fitted to the 456, but i’ve had to remove the inner ring as it fouled the chainring bolts. I haven’t had a chance to ride it yet to find out if it works. I’ll be going back to TA rings

enfht

new cassette too?

Premier Icon monkeysfeet
    Subscriber

Suffering from bad chainsuck on a 9 speed set up. Was running raceface turbine rings but swapped to middleburn rings but still suffering, so what is causing it and how can I stop it?

andyl

sticky jockeys?

(jockey wheels not undies)

Premier Icon coolhandluke
    Subscriber

It used to happen on my 456 summer season a lot. I sold it and bought a 456 ti. It hasn’t happened since…

OK when I got my new (expensive) frame I put on new chain set but also put on my old chain and old cassette so I deduce from that its either:

a) the frame
    b) the chainset (truvativ originally then shimano on new frame)

To be fair, I can’t see how the frame can suck a chain up so it must be the chainset.

Never used truvativ since and never chain sucked since either.