• This topic has 23 replies, 19 voices, and was last updated 4 years ago by Kuco.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Carrying u-locks about
  • ratherbeintobago

Looking for a means of carrying a u-lock about that doesn’t involve frame brackets.

Is there such a thing as a back holster? Attempted googling has been… eye opening but not all that helpful.

Andy_Sweet
    Free Member

On the rare occasions I carry one I slip it into the bladder compartment of a camelback

thegeneralist
    Free Member

Check and see if the U slides neatly in between the saddle rails from front to back. Obviously it depends on lock and saddle but one of my locks fitted perfectly there to the degree that it didn’t even swivvle round and hang down. It just sat there hanging horizontally under the saddle.

molgrips
    Free Member

When I was a student my best MTB was my only bike and hence my only form of transport. I used to stick the lock down the back of my trousers. Not ideal. TBH nowadays I’d use a small messenger bag that I have.

tthew

Do you already have the lock? I recommend the Lite Lock if not, gold secure and straps to the frame with velcro, not a permanent bracket. The instructions say to put the straps on the frame and fit the lock, I put them on the lock, then attach to the frame.

Oggles
    Free Member

Restrap make a belt holster. You could probably use it on a bag strap too.

I’ll just loop it through my belt on short journeys if cycling in casual wear.

Ghetto solution – pass an old inner tube through the U, then one arm through each loop, over the back?

kelron
    Free Member

I’d be wary of using a Lite Lock for anything valuable.

warpcow
    Free Member

Most courier-bag brands do lock holsters; bagaboo, chrome, etc.

joshvegas
    Free Member

I used to stuff it through my belt at the back for hilstering around town.

It hurts ALOT landing on it.

molgrips
    Free Member