Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • Careers Advice – what did they try and do to you?
  • BigButSlimmerBloke
    Free Member

Just read this
    I'm an IT Manager, specifically working with diagnostic imaging – that's x-rays 'n' stuff. I'm happy, I like my job and I think I'm good at it. There's enough technology to keep my inner geek satisfied and enough patient care for me to think it's worthwhile. I was into computers at school, so something like this seems pretty obvious.
    Careers advisor recommended I go to Aberdeen and take the tests to join the trawler fleet, because that's what some of my family did (eg great grandfather). FFS have you seen Trawlermen on Dave?
    Anyway, how did you get one with careers – close to the mark or missed completely?

mastiles_fanylion
    Free Member

Fluffer

Harry_the_Spider

Careers advice options at my old school

a) 6th form
    b) Armed forces
    c) Prison

terrahawk
    Free Member

YTS. I can't remember them mentioning anything else.

Pook

I kind of knew what each question was trying to get me to say so chose the appropriate answer for what i actually wanted to do.

As a result I did what it said – became a journo

kinda666
    Free Member

Engineering apprenticeships, Came out of one of their interview things and there was a job for British Rail as a junior railman, applied and got it over hundreds of others (helped that my dad had been on the railway for 33 years I think) That was 1991, and i'm still there, but as a Signalman now 🙂

molgrips
    Free Member

The best recommended job for me was Aerial rigger, because it got you out in the open air.

How daft. I mean who would search the ads looking specifically for an aerial rigger job?

mrmichaelwright
    Free Member

no matter what you put into our computer 'what job will you do' thingy it always gave the same answers but differentiated between boys and girls 😆