Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • Career change in late 30's. Anybody done it?
  • philsimmo
    Free Member

I know there was a similar thread about this but its a couple of years old now so here goes:

I have been becoming increasingly bored with my desk job over the last year or so. The pay is decent enough (£30k+ PA) and its fairly secure but im sooooooo bored its unreal. I’m an account manager which means talking about leases, figures, compliance blah blah blah and a large element is sales.

I think at heart i’ve known sales / desk job etc etc isn’t for me for a long time but have always used the security blanket of decent salary to stay put.

Well no longer!!

I’m at the stage now where ive become sufficiently comfortable about giving up the security of a half decent salary and have the balls to do something i really want to do.

I have a few ideas batting around my head but have very little experience in anything other than retail,leasing, sales, bit of management and compliance.

Ideally i would love to become a live sound engineer or even retrain as a sparky.

Has anybody else done jacked it all in to go and do something they really want to do? How hard was it? How did you go about it, did you favour more education over a hands on approach. Anybody want a general dogs body to work in a recording studio / live music venue for free!?

russianbob
    Free Member

Do you have kids? If the answer is no, I’d bloody go for it. What do you have to lose. If you stay where you are you’ll only regret it in years to come.

brooess
    Free Member

I lived with a guy a few years ago who was a live sound engineer. For some big bands too – Nine Inch Nails, Lou Reed etc.

Now he wasn’t the most cheery person about life in general but he did say the music industry wasn’t the nicest to work in.