Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 50 total)
  • Career change?
  • LMT
    Free Member

Not sure where to start, firstly in looking and current situation. I work in retail, contantly getting screwed over for promotion. Now im too old/wrong sex/wrong ethnic group etc etc just got to the point where enough is enough.

Qualifications i have a few gcse’s, hnd in computing, some work based qualifications NVQ’s. I have 15 years in retail management. Currently doing a job i took to gain promotion but that backfired as usual, boss won’t or can’t allow a move back to my previous dept/job role.

I could demote myself but thats a 10k pay cut, i could get by but it would be very tight money wise.

I could stand it out, but that could take time and doing a job i don’t particular enjoy or want to be doing.

Tough decisions, as a new career haven’t got the foggiest where to start, i know 1 thing while in this mess need to start saving money big time.

jonomc
    Free Member

Great… is there a question related to this?

LMT
    Free Member

Well yep, not sure what to do? Was after some unbiased advice

jam-bo

decide what you want to do. do it.

wolfenstein
    Free Member

Gambled a desk/office job recently because when they moved me to a new and farther site they start making me work on some weekends and odd hours just to show up to check on something (like driving an hour for a 2hr checks) ..messed up my cycling days.. Took the redundancy money and started a new job robot welding stuff 😯 paycut is is significant.. Enough to buy me 2 yeti 575 XT every year … Happier on the new job now (i think) adjustment on money is not easy … 🙁

Trimix
    Free Member

Well given your experience is in Retail – your buggered. You have next to no qualifications – your buggered.

Ive been in situations like that before, I managed to change by blagging an interview via a recruitement consultancy who never asked to see my (non existant) qualifications. Got the job and they never asked.