Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Career advice (mid life crisis content)
  • spchantler
    Free Member

Sorry if this is long winded. I’ve been away from here for a while, arguing with people on Facebook instead. I’ve recently broken an ankle and had surgery so experienced a bout of navel gazing. I’m a head brewer at a micro, been kind of wedded to the job the last 5 or so years, and not really had any time off, However they’ve managed fine without me and nobody’s died, so all good. I’m 45, but feel young enough to retrain, just not sure what. I’m a working musician as well, and for 10 years was a self employed joiner/builder, before the crash. I don’t know many wealthy musicians, I’ve never met a tradesman with more than a pot to piss in and brewing world is set to contract hugely in the next couple of years. The question is, what can the forum suggest as a career move that may enable me to have a greater work life balance, and the sort of wage that leaves me a bit for savings, pension etc, at the moment I have none. Do I need a life coach , or to get a life? Again apologies for the ramble

franksinatra

Gigolo. Or pimp ( if you want to be in management)

thecaptain
    Free Member

Probably a better bet to become a life coach than pay for one 🙂

Onzadog
    Free Member

I had a total switch in my late 30s.  Started with training with a DNO.  Best thing I ever did.

spchantler
    Free Member

ThIs has been mooted. The life coach bit, I’m not sure my teeth are shiny enough though

TheBrick
    Free Member

There are very few high paid jobs, those there are require large amounts of training and long hours, possibly danger and or lots of travel (top end lawyers, doctors, off shore work, travelling engineer).

There are even less reasonable paid jobs with good flexibility and reasonable hours.

So you probably need to start a small business, maybe one man band, if you want a half decent wadge and good flexibility.

jekkyl