Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Car insurance – driving someone else's car?
  • rocketman
    Free Member

Morning all. A couple of hypothetical legal questions for those of you who know stuff.

I have a full driving licence but I don’t own a car.

Q1) I have no car insurance. Can I drive someone else’s car with their permission (they have FC insurance)?
    Q2) I’m a named driver on someone else’s FC insurance. Can I drive another person’s car with their permission?

Ta

matt_outandabout

Q1) Yes. If you are covered on their insurance.
    Q2) Very very unlikely. Only a *few* policies now cover the Policy Holder for driving third party on other folks cars.

Call the insurer.

zanelad
    Free Member

With regard to question 2, I very much doubt it. Mrs Z is a named driver on our policy, but only the policyholder is insured to drive other cars.

senorj

The person who owns the car would know if you are covered on their insurance.
    I.e. fully comprehensive/any driver….fully comp/named driver…third party etc etc…As Matt says, call to insurer required if not sure.

konagirl
    Free Member

To clarify, if you are not a policy holder yourself with the right T&C to drive other vehicles with permission, you will have to be a named driver on the specific car you want to drive. You can be added for a day or a week and usually very cheaply if the car owner just calls their insurer.

nickjb
    Free Member

1) unlikely unless they have a policy that allows any driver (and these are usually restricted to over 25 year olds). If it’s just one car then adding you as a named driver is usually free when renewing but likely to have an admin charge mid policy.
    2) unlikely. Pretty standard for the policy holder to be allowed to drive other cars 3rd party only but not for named drivers.

MoreCashThanDash

And the consequences of getting it wrong for you and the vehicle owner really aren’t worth taking a chance for.

poly
    Free Member