Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Canyon Roadlite 8.0 AL SL vs Roadlite CF 7.0
  • cooperidol
    Free Member

Morning,

Complete newbie and first time post here,

I have recently got into cycling and have decided to upgrade. After a few weeks research I think I have decided on the Canyon Roadlite range of machines.

What would you think is the best option between the light aluminium 8.0 AL SL at £1299 https://www.canyon.com/en-gb/hybrid-city/citybikes/roadlite/roadlite-al-sl-8.0/2345.html?dwvar_2345_pv_rahmenfarbe=BK

And the carbon fibre CF 7.0 at £1499 https://www.canyon.com/en-gb/hybrid-city/citybikes/roadlite/roadlite-cf-7.0/1973.html?dwvar_1973_pv_rahmenfarbe=BK

Would be great to hear your views on the pros and cons of aluminium v carbon fibre option here that are by and larger the main difference between the two.

Thanks in advance

shortbread_fanylion
    Free Member

Carbon will be quite a bit lighter. You can upgrade the components as they wear out and you’ll end up with a much lighter bike.

cooperidol
    Free Member

Thanks. I think the difference between the two bikes in weight is only 0.45 kg (8.8 v 9.25)
    Is that difference worth the cost differential or are there other factors in play?

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    shortbread_fanylion
    Free Member

The alu one will probably have lighter components but a heavier frame. If you can I would get the carbon one.

cooperidol
    Free Member

Ok cool. I’ll research the components a bit. At a quick look I think they are virtually identical… but I may be wrong

I suppose if they are and the frames are just 450g difference then is it really worth the extra cash. Is there any other positive negative pay offs with aluminium/carbon frames apart from weight?