Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Can I dynamically embed text from another site on my site?
  • chiefgrooveguru

I’m not trying to steal anything, I just want to have some stock data for custom options on our products, which use materials we don’t keep in stock.

It’s the green “xxx in stock” or red “on back order” text I want to copy over to our product pages, from here:

https://www.allparts.uk.com/products/grill-cloth-ampeg-style-black-silver-36-width-per-yard

(I’m not a web designer, I’m just making it up as I go along!)

chiefgrooveguru

Any experts here?

rossburton
    Free Member

Sure, write some code to grab that page, parse it, extract the bits you want, and then put it in your own page.

Anything further than that would need a lot more details about how your site works.

rossburton
    Free Member

A better solution would be to speak to allparts and ask if they have a machine readable stock database that you can access easily, without all the pain of doing what you want.

redthunder
    Free Member

I’m sure someone here will help. The MTB coding experts sorted out my PHP Image problem the other day.

Could IFRAME be of use?

whitestone
    Free Member

A lot of sites have an API (Application Programming Interface) that allows for this. It’s how sites pull data from Strava and similar. If Allparts do have an API then there’ll be a few limitations, usually things like a maximum number of requests per hour/day/week.

Then your problems become:

1. How to formulate the request.
    2. How to handle the response.
    3. How to dynamically update your site with that information.