• This topic has 20 replies, 17 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by mc.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Can a car battery measuring 12.4v still be knackered?
  • dooosuk
    Free Member

Car failed to start this morning. Jump started very easily. Wouldn’t start again tonight but again jump started very easily.

Got home and got the volt meter out. 14.1v with engine running. 12.44 without.

All seems normal to me.

After a run it started fine straight after turning it off. But at the second try after failed again.

When it fails there’s no aren’t to turn over, just a clicking, the dash dials moving and the CD changer shuffling.

Is the battery knackered but still giving a good reading? No problems prior to this morning and didn’t leave lights on or anything.

TrekEX8
    Free Member

I’m no expert, but in the true spirit of this forum, I’ll speak as if I am…..
    Presumably, 14.1v is the output voltage of the alternator – a good sign, sounds like it’s charging ok.
    12.44v sounds a little on the low side – I reckon you’re due a new battery!

Speshpaul

Yeap, its not holding enough amps.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    Cougar

Sounds like it to me.

chewkw
    Free Member

That does not sound like a knackered battery to me.

I used to jump start my car every 3 days when my battery was knackered.

At one point I only drove my car 2 or 3 times a year and the battery got drained but once I jump start it, the car would start no problem and I could drive normally. But once I left it again for a week without starting I would have to jump start it again.

Put it this way once I jump start it on the day the car would start easily no problem for the entire day or the next day, so long as I drive it around.