Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Calling all Bass guitarists
  • Amos
    Free Member

Just picked up my brother in laws bass to have a play with. If I get on OK with it I’ll get my own but figured borrowing one first was best.

So what is the best bass guitar tip you know for a complete newb!

thomthumb
    Free Member

get funky!

erm. dunno find some easy songs to play (where the bass is important) so it seems like your making progress. deftones for me (although it all has nu-metal de-tuning) RATM would also be good.

Amos
    Free Member

RATM is the soul reason for my interest!

pancake
    Free Member

Practice on the scales and get used to the pain in ya fingers :-)its gonna hurt. Try and play the bass riff from Delights – groove is in the heart, its fairly simple and sounds pretty funky. Enjoy

MtbRoutes

Use your ears!
    Listen to tracks you like and try to work out the bass line yourself. You should soon begin to get a feel for how the sound of certain note intervals or riffs translates to the fretboard.
    Avoid TAB charts. They’ll only stunt your progress (and most of them are full of mistakes).
    Don’t play too hard unless you’re in a punk band. A lighter touch gives far more control. Finger-style will give you more flexibility in the long run, but there’s nothing wrong with using a plectrum if the style dictates it.
    It’s all about the groove man. Practice playing to a steady beat or metronome, making each note clean and defined.

ferrit32
    Free Member

Decide early on if you are wanting to play fingerstyle or plectrum ( not even considering slap at this stage). If its fingerstyle you are going to need to build up those calluses on your fingertips, which can be a pretty painfull process and is only achieved by playing until your fingers hurt then playing a bit more.