• This topic has 26 replies, 18 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by xcgb.
Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Buying a bit of the neighbors garden.
  • colster808
    Free Member

My neighbors garden is completely overgrown and unused. My wife’s a very keen gardener so we were thinking today about offering/asking to buy the bottom bit of theirs. It’s surrounded buy other gardens so no access therefore couldn’t be built on. We really just want it for a veg patch.

Anyone done this? Any susscess/horror stories welcome.

gonefishin
    Free Member

I have some experience with this but one particular part went a little “sideways” and has ended up in spat with the neighbours. Anyway, first up is to ask if they are actually willing to sell you the land. Assuming that that is the case then they will need to get in touch with their mortgage company for permission, you’ll likely need to do the same but it should be less of an issue for you as your home value would rise. If there’s no mortgage then that’s less of a problem. They will then get a valuation done to agree a price and then it’s off to the solicitors for both of you to arrange everything. You would be expected to pay not only the valuation of the land but all of their expenses too.

Oh and try to stay on the best terms you can until everything is sorted. These things have a habit of getting out of control if there is a slight disagreement.

Steve_B

We did this years ago on a previous house. All done through a lawyer and no issues. But as above we paid all costs.

We tried at our current house but neighbours wanted more than we were prepared to pay.

PS Depending where you are expect their valuation and the cost to be in thousands not hundreds

alanl
    Free Member

On the selling side, yes.
    I have a corner plot, pretty large, roughly 30 metres long, 30 wide at the end – gets wider the further you go.