Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Business financing advice
  • flip
    Free Member

I want to expand my company, im a sole trader at present.

My question is would it be better to finance it myself ( i have savings) or is it worthwhile or adventageous to use finance? Loan etc.?

I need 20k ish

johndoh
    Free Member

If you have your own £20k use that – why pay interest if you don’t have to?

Just make sure it is accounted for as your own investment into the company so you don’t get taxed on it in the future when you draw it back out.

EDIT: If you wanted to borrow £20k, the lenders would want security (ie your house). Would you be prepared to lose that if they came knocking?

the-muffin-man

EDIT: If you wanted to borrow £20k, the lenders would want security (ie your house). Would you be prepared to lose that if they came knocking?

+1

I was just about to say this!

Choice is possibly lose savings, or lose house if things go wrong. At least with using savings you can use what you need at the time, or do you need to spend 20k in one hit?

And are you likely to create any new jobs? There may be local grants available if so.

flip
    Free Member

Yes i will probably need 2 new people, but wont a grant be like a loan?

project
    Free Member

Loans are reepayable, grants are for specificitems or staff and training.

Try Buisness link for more info

flip
    Free Member

Business link no longer exists 😥

johndoh
    Free Member

Also look at Government schemes for taking on young people (if that fits your requirement) where costs can be offset against various tax benefits and so on. I know absolutely nothing about this myself first hand though so you’d need to do some research.

Such as this…

https://www.gov.uk/government/collections/helping-young-people-into-work

the-muffin-man

Your local chamber of commerce may be able to point you in the right direction then. It’s worth a call.

project
    Free Member

Business link no longer exists