Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Building a bike for the first time (Production Privee content)
  • ossify

Having had a Production Privée Shan GT frame sitting in the loft for a year or two, I am finally able to start building it up!
    Insanely excited 🙂

As this is my first time building a bike, plus it’s a very different shape to my previous bike so the fit will be different, this thread will be the home of all my noob questions 😉

Intended spec:
    Bought! En route from Germany:
    SLX M7100 1×12 drivetrain
    XT M800 PF bottom bracket
    XT M8120 wheels
    Magura MT Trail Sport brakes 180mm rotors

Not yet bought but probably settled:
    Fork probably RS Revelation 130mm
    Bars/stem Production Privée

Still TBC:
    Saddle maybe Fabric Scoop
    Grips
    Dropper (Brand-X or CrankBros Highline 3? Will probably be the last thing to buy as I don’t know what length fits)
    Pedals probably something plastic
    Invisiframe? Would be nice but out of budget really.
    Tyres
    Whatever else I’ve missed out

First question: What bar rise? I have a choice of 0.5″ and 1″. Have read up on rise a bit but still unsure!

Any and all advice/comments welcome

nwmlarge
    Free Member

If you go invisiframe, do it now not later, should be fitted pre assembly.

I like a 1″ rise but its quite subjective, can you draw comparisons with an existing bike to understand the bar height once you have added tyres, fork and headset stack height into consideration?

zerocool

Invisiframe is worth the money.

dcwhite1984
    Free Member

Just a note to remember that when you cut the steerer down on the fork, leave it a little longer than you think you actually need, using extra spacers, that way you can ride it for a bit and have some extra length to play with.

I have just built up a Stanton frame and used 5 spacers on the steerer tube – looking to cut down a bit once i have settled on the height i want to keep it at.

alan1977
    Free Member