Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Brand-X dropper longevity
  • rickonwheels
    Free Member

I’ve gone through a couple of dropper posts over the last few years and now my current ks-eten has a lot of rotational play – I replaced the bushings but that didn’t resolve it.

Brand-X droppers are a tempting price – can anyone attest to their long-term performance/ durability, or is it too early to be asking that question?

tenfoot

I’ve been using one on my full sus for almost 2 years, and one on my hardtail for a year. Both have been subjected to frequently damp/muddy rides and both operate faultlessly.

Great VFM in my opinion

P-Jay
    Free Member

I’m 18 months on mine. (although it’s Branded Pro).

The only point of failure on mine has been cabled related, I get a lot of schmutz in my seat tube once the cable pulled out of the end, once it got so shitted up it wouldn’t drop/rise, once it was so cold it locked ‘open’ so it fell when you sat on it and came back up when you didn’t. I ride 12 months a year and live in Wales so you expect stuff like this.

About 6 months ago I stripped and cleaned it – once it’s out it takes literal minutes, a few weeks ago I did the same and replaced the seals / keys at the same time. Kit was £15, again it took minutes. The how-to vid is ‘real time’ and lasts 6 mins long – but they’d doing a brand new clean dropper – real world it’s more like 15. It’s like brand new again.

I think they’re wonderful, real world reliability, serviceability and low price. what’s not to like.

Poopscoop

A fair few threads on here about the Brand X. Having read probably all of those there are remarkable few failures on this post. Some rebuild spares are also available for it which is a bonus.

I’d take one over a reverb any day.

Kamakazie

Had the 150mm version since release and it’s been excellent.