• This topic has 23 replies, 14 voices, and was last updated 4 years ago by fossy.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Both our kids have now…
  • Alex

… passed their driving tests. Youngest one (17 at the time) last year and eldest (20) a year later. I sold our MX5 (sob) so they could have a car between them. Youngest is now at Uni, eldest will now be driving to work every day.

The whole ‘taking your kids somewhere’ or ‘fetching them when you’re rather be having a beer’ is so ingrained, it’s going to be really strange not having to worry about it. For some reason tho I feel a bit sad.

Anyway I’ve cheered myself up by pinning a sign to his bedroom door ‘pub insertion and retrieval operative sleeps in here’.

They both passed first time. My wife passed second. I passed third. There were extenuating circumstances. I was a rubbish driver 😉

So anyway just me lamenting them getting fully independent. Or should I just be toasting the whole event knowing I won’t have to drive later 😉

Drac

My eldest is saving up for he first car she starts lessons in April.

Alex

Yes I tried that approach. Both claimed poverty. I probably should have been a bit firmer. Especially considering what a life affirming experience fixing my first car by the side of the road was. In fact many life affirming experiences if I remember rightly.

£295 it cost me. And £295 of WD40 🙂

wrightyson
    Free Member

Daughter passed 3 weeks ago. It’s a revelation especially when she was at work on a saturday and plays netball 3 times a week. We were constantly on taxi duty. However mrsws had to be picked up from work by me yesterday as the daughter was out in the car 😳

Alex

I don’t think my better half is going to miss the ‘clock watching’ of dropping him off and fetching him from work. Or Karate twice a week. Also at 20, the insurance was on the right side of eye watering. When we insured our 17 year old I needed a lie down with a large glass of gin!