Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • bit of maths help…..
  • marcus7
    Free Member

as i’m not very good with maths and i know there are those on here that are… i’m looking for a formula to calculate an anulus width knowing only the outer circle diameter and the chord length i.e
    outer ring diameter is 10 and the chord is 8 the inner ring on the chord measures 7 and so what is the calculation to give me the width of the anulus? the outer ring is always 10 but the chord and inner ring measurement vary….. is this even possible to calculate simply??? ie could i set an xl calcultor to do this??
    sorry for this on a friday morning….

Killer
    Free Member

I’m not sure i ujnderstand the terms you’re using.

i have two circles drawn on a piece of paper showing a solid ring. THe outer diameter (distance from one side to the other in a straight line) is 10.
    The inner diameter from one side to the other is either 7 or 8 depending on what you’re referring to.
    The Chord for a single circle is the same as its diameter no?

GrahamS

Likewise confused. Got a diagram?

Cougar

I had to look it up.

annulus
    ?anj?l?s/
    nountechnical
    a ring-shaped object, structure, or region.
    MATHEMATICS
    a plane figure consisting of the area between a pair of concentric circles.

nbt

I get the question but don’t know the answer

In this image the outer chord is 10 – shown by the lin.

Now imagine a line from the end of the chord going to the centre of the circle. where the line crosses the inner circle, we have another (inner) chord. the inner cord is 8

how wide is the coloured circle

No I don’t get the question. however this page mighthelp

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:377173

marcus7
    Free Member