Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Bikes are rubbish.
  • Olly
    Free Member

FINALLY got my new wheel built today.

Pesky Parcel force had been “helpful” and left it with the owner of the shop below our flat, however the shop is open 9:30 till 4:30 M-F

skived work this morning to retrive it in the end.

got the rim: whoot
    got the spokes: whoot
    Got the hub: whoot.

Built the wheel!

Bit dissapointed with the quality of a shimano freewheel (im new to this screw on freewheel SS game) but lets go with it.

Wheel in bike

does the wheel turn?

does it COCK!

turns out, you cant use a 160mm disk rotor with a dmr revolver hub.

SO.

now need to either upgrade the back end rotor and caliper mount.

or just get a new caliper mount, put a 160mm on the front, 180mm on the back, and “roll” all out of sorts.

chicks wont dig a bike with its rotors the wrong way around will they!

COULD just buy a pack of washers, and shim the rotor out and the caliper up, but that doesn’t strike me as overly sensible.

Janesy
    Free Member

You think your day has been bad, pfft 😉

Olly
    Free Member

not really, just irritated.

not intending to ride it tonight, just, feel all unsettled knowing that its “broken”.

My bodgey Zen has been disrupted

epicyclo

Olly – Member
    …turns out, you cant use a 160mm disk rotor with a dmr revolver hub….

I’m sure I had a 160 on mine at one stage. Certainly don’t remember problems.

funkynick

Hold on… why can’t you use a 160mm disc on that hub? It’s just a standard 6-bolt pattern isn’t it?

R.lepecha

how can it not take 160mm rotors, knaff hub that sounds!

TheSwede
    Free Member

Its woop woop not whoot. WTF is a whoot?

Olly
    Free Member

the disk mount appears to be too close to the hub flange, which means with the width of the caliper, it rubs on the spokes as they pass.
    its a newly built wheel, maybe if i crank the spokes up really tight they will pull flatter :s
    not sure im that keen on that idea though.