Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Bike Hike down again. OS type alternatives?
  • PolisherMan

I’ve trawled through a few alternative gps plotting sites, but most only use osm type maps.
    What I’m looking for is one that uses OS, so that I can check on definitive rights of way.
    Plus the option to save as “track”. I have an OS subscription, so that can be used to plot routes, but when I tried creating a big test route, it all went wrong Grommet. No option to save as “track”

B.A.Nana
    Free Member

I’ve never used it so you will have to explore it yourself, but justgoride.co.uk has a route creator and you can select OS map from the drop down box. don’t know about saving as a Track gpx

thegeneralist
    Free Member

I have an OS subscription, so that can be used to plot routes, but when I tried creating a big test route, it all went wrong Grommet. No option to save as “track”

I use OS App and think it’s great. Takes just a few minutes to plot a route. Doesn’t crash much for me and I tend to do quite long rides.

PS, what’s this mean:

No option to save as “track”

grum
    Free Member
    scotroutes

The problem with Routes created by the OS App is that  (outside National Parks) they only do direct routing, not following the lines on the map. If you want accuracy then you need to add an awful lot of Points to follow every squiggle. Uploading these to a Garmin, it’s easy to exceed the maximum number of Waypoints allowed on a Route. Making it a Track overcomes this limit.

thegeneralist
    Free Member

Ah, many thanks.

belugabob
    Free Member

It’s not OS, as you requested, but consider using Garmin Basecamp with the TalkyToaster free maps installed.
    You can save as routes (with turn-by-turn prompts, when sent to your Garmin) or tracks (when you’ve exceeded to 40 waypoint limit)
    Personally, I just break longer routes down into shorter sections, to retain the Turn by turn

B.A.Nana
    Free Member