Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • Best chamois in a lycra short?
  • Fat-boy-fat

I’ve been using Giordana FRC shorts for many years but the chamois pads are getting a bit knackered. You only seem to get them in bib shorts now and I was thinking about switching allegiance.

Does anyone have any recommendations for an alternative with a super comfy chamois?

molgrips
    Free Member

Has to be Assos. A little pricey but they lasted me a decade and I just got some Mille for £72 on Wiggle which isn’t even that much for non bargain shorts.

joebristol

How about best budget chamois in a Lycra short? I’ve always used dhb ones but doing some longer rides on the mtb with road sections I’m struggling around the 30k mark. They’re fine on the road bike for double the distance and it’s the same saddle – so must be I have more weight on it from the riding position.

Would quite like something thicker / maybe more dense padding without going over £40 ish for a pair.

mattbee

Castilli are my go-to. Happily spent 12 plus hours in them.

simondbarnes

The posh Castelli ones are lovely, as are the ones in the Endura pro sl.

jobro
    Free Member

Endura pro sl has worked well for me. Never tried Assos. Sportful, even the very expensive one, have great pads but the shorts cut me in half.

molgrips
    Free Member

18 hour ride in my Assos, no bothers. On a 24 hour solo race I had two pairs though, both Assos 🙂

lunge

Budget, the top line Decathlon stuff.
    No budget, I’d say the same but Assos are just as good if you want to spend more.

slowoldman

I don’t think thicker is better. Re. Castelli mentioned above, I have some Progetto X2 pads and some Kiss. The Progettos seem a bit on the thin side but are really comfy whereas the Kiss, still pretty comfy, feel a bit nappy-like.

But, like saddles or even car seats, it’s personal.

robcolliver
    Free Member