Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Awning for a day van? Camper complete novice content
  • Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

My recently bought Transit connect (LWB High roof) stealth camper has a C rail installed along the passenger side above the sliding door. I’d like something reasonably priced to use at events/weekends away so that I can have the slide out bed inside the van left in place, and can cook/sit in an awning and a place to spanner etc, so I’d prefer sides, but I don’t really require a full on camping type set up.

My mates and I have a race size gazebo, but if I’m off on my own it’s a bit much.

I haven’t a clue where to start tbh, but obviously a lot of folks on here will have similar set ups/experiences.

VanHalen

Just get something that clips to the c rail.

Or I have a ‘sail’ which I can drape over van with a couple of front poles and guy ropes. It’s a glorified tarp but does the job. Would much prefer something tailor made but didn’t want to screw holes in van or a c rail as I wanted to keep the clean look. [Poncy vw owner]

captainsasquatch
    Free Member

http://www.direct4x4.co.uk/tents-awnings
    Not sure if you can get sides in place of the full on tents, but they would be easy enouigh to make using tarps.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    DaveyBoyWonder
    Free Member

Khyam do one with removable sides but they’re not waterproof (its meant to be more of a sun shade). Once you’ve factored in the sides etc its about £150 though I think.

We’ve got a massive Khyam awning for when we’re away for more than a few days – the rest of the time we have a Decathlon tarp which we’ve sewn a kador rail onto. Cost less than £30 – job done.

MrSparkle

I knocked this up out of an old tent. I finally got to use it when we bobbed over to Britanny last month. Its not ideal but it’s ok. Cost me nowt.

dknwhy

Decathlon tarp?

Nobeerinthefridge