Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Avid Elixir 7 advice please
  • luffy105
    Free Member

Just wondering if the collective have encountered this problem before as I am a bit of a tech novice and unsure what to do next.

My new Canyon AL+ 7.0 arrived at the weekend and I absolutely love it although I have an issue with the rear brake lever. When you want it to engage you have to pull the brake lever 1 – 2 times to get it to work. Once I have got it to pressurise the pads onto the disc it keeps the pressure and I can increase or decrease the braking but as soon as I released if I wanted the back brake to work again I have to give the lever a couple of pumps again in order for the pads to engage on the disc. On the shakedown ride when I came to a downhill section I would pump the lever a couple of times until they started to bite and then hold the back brake on the whole way down which isn’t ideal.

My friend who put the bike together with (for :D) me (and is also technically very competent) suspects that by bleeding the hose this should cure it but he lives a fair way away from me so I will have to do this myself and I aint the most technical person around but willing to give it a go. My only thought though is that as the bike is new, surely the brakes would have been bled before sending so possibly there may be a more serious underlying fault?

Has anyone had any experience of this happening to them? just thought I would check before I spend a long time learning to bleed brakes and make a godawful mess.