Auto Pause – yay or nay?

Home Forum Bike Forum Auto Pause – yay or nay?

Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Auto Pause – yay or nay?
  • r8jimbob88

I’ve never used this feature before and just let my Garmin run, even if I’ve stopped for an hour in a cafe.

I’ve started training with a power meter about 4 month ago and today went on a long social ride with plenty of stops. My TSS was much higher than I’d expected and I’ve worked out the TSS is calculated using the overall time. If TSS was calculated against my moving time then the overall score would have been much closer to what i’d have thought.

I’ve just started using a Wahoo Elemnt bolt if that makes a different. It’s also pretty rare that I’d stop much during a ride but today’s 4hr 40min had 45 mins not moving. Might be why I’ve noticed such a big discrepancy today.

Is auto pause the answer?

It’s quite a good feature if you do a lot of social rides where you are stopping a lot and often forget to turn on the device again but IME if you are riding up proper steep stuff on the mtb the slow pace often tricks the device to turn off.

CraigW

A lot of software/websites will ignore the autopause recorded by the device anyway. It uses its own thresholds to calculate stopped time/moving time. eg Strava does this.
    So it doesn’t make much difference if you have autopause turned on or not.

r8jimbob88

Cheers guys. I use Training Peaks. Doesn’t seem to adjust the time like Strava does

Premier Icon mikewsmith
    Subscriber

My TSS was much higher than I’d expected and I’ve worked out the TSS is calculated using the overall time. If TSS was calculated against my moving time then the overall score would have been much closer to what i’d have thought.

So if you don’t count all the breaks a d recovery time it says it’s a harder ride? Seems about right, I did some huge rides last year if you ignore the fact I did them over the course of a week 😉