Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Arthritis roll call, new comer alert :(
  • roundwheels
    Free Member

Hii all, looking for so advice/experiences on what people are doing to manage the symptoms? Any treatment worth looking into that works for you? (Please don’t say ebike as I’ll be a Hypocrite :)Today I found out that the pain I’ve been managing for close to 2 years is arthritis in the hip, following an X-ray and MRI scan the hip needs replaced, not something you’d want to hear at the ripe old age of 41. At the moment I’ve basically just to manage the symptoms but given the deterioration I have experienced and the consultants opinion it’s imminent.

Thanks

ton

had a new hip in november, and a fused ankle previous november.

get it replaced as soon as it needs doing, until then ibuprofen, paracetamol and good old MTFU

back riding 100 miles per week n ow, so there is always light at the end mate.

roundwheels
    Free Member

Same leg Ton? I’ve not long recovered from 2 ankle surgery’s on the same leg also when you say “as soon as it needs replacing “ did you wait until you could move no more? Or just “pain”

there are are some days I am fine but like today I feel like it’s need done now

ton

other leg mate.

broke my ankle playing rugby years ago. talus bone never healed correct. so that was fused to bottom of tibia.

years of dragging that round had worn my left hip. it was square on the knuckle that sits in the cup. got to the stage where i couldnt walk more than 100 yards. was ok on the bike if i rode steady.

had to sleep with a pillow between my legs for the last 4 years.

roundwheels
    Free Member

Yeah, that’s really not the best, I can walk fine but struggle when I sit, especially sitting on the toilet very sore or at work, it’s good to hear you have had a good recovery which for me is positive for the future

thanks

BoardinBob

I’ve had joint pain and other niggling injuries for years. Nothing has helped.