Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Are these injuries normal?
  • squin
    Free Member

I took up Karate 6 months ago at the ripe old age of 36.

Now, I really love it and training 3 times a week really helps blow the work cobwebs away. Here’s the thing though, certain sessions each week are contact sparring – which I enjoy too. It seems to be that only brown belts and black tend to turn up for these sessions but I’m quite game for a laugh and go too. Enthusiasm seems to go a long way!!

So far, I have had a broken finger (my fault for blocking badly), a badly bruised foot (not my fault), and now what feels like cracked ribs when tonight a prick of a 3rd Dan decided that he was going to unleash full force.

Is this amount of injury normal, or am I just being over-optimistic about my ability and should ease off on the contact sparring until I’ve been traing for a few years?

For what it’s worth, I’m pretty good for my level, but no where near as good as those who have been training for 10+ years!

Yours, a shallow breathing (coz it **** hurts),

Stu.

deadlydarcy
    Free Member

Surf-Mat to the thread please.

jam-bo

shouldn’t be a 3rd Dan if he can’t control himself sparring with a lesser grade….

squin
    Free Member

jam bo – my thoughts too really, but all walks of life have dick heads I suppose.

SurroundedByZulus
    Free Member

let whoever is taking the session know about the lack of control of some of the people you are sparring with and let them decide the punishment. that used to be great to watch in my old club.

squin
    Free Member

SbZ, I wouldn’t want to get on the wrong sid of our Sensei, he’s a 7th Dan and had been training for nearly 40 years. I think he probably knows that some are without control as he will occasionally demonstrate on the overly agressive individuals – which normally puts them in their place.

Hairychested
    Free Member

Borrow some bombers off Ton.

squin
    Free Member