Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 99 total)
  • Are Mountain bikings green credentials dead?
  • beanieripper
    Free Member

Will probably get roasted for this but here goes. I’ve been Mtbing for about 30 years. Xc, downhill, trail centres etc. Last decade or so pretty much all natural longish to long days out. Cycling to me has always felt like a pleasure that could be easily justified in a world of pretty gratuitous behaviour, I’m thinking uncle Mike tours Europe in socks and sandals. We earnt our stripes hanging on for dear life on a canti braked rigid deathtrap riding rowdyish natural terrain. The only cost I could see was; a bit of lunch, some minimal erosion, some scars, the petrol it took me to get to the start and some 3 in one oil. Rode up out of Amberley today on the SDW, it’s a toughish climb to clear all the way under your own steam but feels good every time. So today the only people I see doing it (except our group of three on normal human powered bikes) are loads and loads of old(er) than me people on ???k ebikes arriving in range rovers and 4x4s. So the ebike and it’s disposable batteries and the huge planet killing car and the erosion that means all trails will one day be turned in into carless roads makes me feel hopelessly sad. Am I just moaning or getting old.? Meeting like minded, fit, pedalmpowered people whose reason to cycle was aligned with their values in life seems to be something that is harder and harder to find….

13thfloormonk

Meh, I think cycling’s green credentials are pretty weak really, probably worse than a lot of sports in fact, e-bikes and trail centre culture don’t help of course but that’s the way society is headed…

convert

MTB has only had a smidge of greenwash by (tenuous) association with cycle commuting (or journeys by car replaced by bike).