Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Architects of this forum…..
  • tillyfishes
    Free Member

I am an student in my last year of school in Scotland and am looking into studying architecture at university.

Thoughts, advice and general discussion please…..

aP
    Free Member

Where are you thinking of studying?
    And, what are your expectations in your career?

Rockhopper
    Free Member

Do some summer work experience in a local practice. We often take people on like that for a couple of weeks. It 100% a total eye opener for them. They come in thinking architects spend all day sitting at a drawing board creating amazing buildings. My last practice (fifty strong) skipped all their drawings boards about ten years ago now. Very little is hand drawn any more unless you get in with one who does lots of competition work, they might even have a dedicated department just for this).

To be fair we have even had Part 1’s come to us who think the same. The last girl left after four days.

It can be very up and down as well – building is the first to be hit by economic downturns and the last to recover.

You won’t earn big money either unless you get in with a top practice and get as far as associate or partner.

Sorry if I sound very negative! I’ve been in the trade now for twenty years and worked for large and small practices covering all sectors but I appreciate that others may have had different experiences 🙂

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    aP
    Free Member

^^ quite a lot of what he said… I didn;t want to appear too negative 😐
    We have a couple of school work experience a year – I’m never quite sure what their expectations are, or what their thoughts are when they leave… But i spend way more time in Excel, Project and Word than I’d have expected (not that they existed when I studied).