Anyone use a prepaid MasterCard?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Anyone use a prepaid MasterCard?
  • Premier Icon robbo1234biking
    Subscriber

At work our benefits scheme includes a prepaid MasterCard that takes money straight out of your salary and pre loads the card. At 70 retailers you are supposed to be able to then get rebates of certain percentages. Wasn’t that interested in the rebates but seemed a good way to put some money aside for Xmas. Apart from the fact that it doesn’t seem to work anywhere! Tried in shops and online retailers but with no success. It is issued through Pure. Anyone had similar? Got a load of money that I can’t seem to get hold of now!

MSP

I have a prepaid mastercard, the only thing I have found I can’t do with it is hire cars. I beleive some are for electronic (online) transactions only.

If you have a paypal account, try linking it with your card, then you could choose paypal as a payment option.

Surely if it’s a MasterCard you can use it anywhere who takes MasterCard?

Premier Icon robbo1234biking
    Subscriber

You would have thought it would be accepted anywhere for MasterCard. Even tried it at the co op but no luck. Just managed to get an order go through on John Lewis which is showing in the balance so might not all be lost but still takes away the point of having it!

Premier Icon kcal
    Subscriber

I had one as a currency prepaid (it was a TravelEx or something similar). Seemed to work abroad OK, and you could load it with GBP as well. Never heard of it being declined!

Subscriber

Doesn’t even work for Amazon! This thing is awful!

tdog

That’s probably a good thing re: no go on Amazon

Just spunk a load via John Lewis’ on Apple products then sell on unopened and claw it back via PayPal*

*not worth the faff!

nealglover

Surely if it’s a MasterCard you can use it anywhere who takes MasterCard?

You would think. But … no.