Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Anyone self built a house (Scotland)
  • brads
    Free Member

Awritey

So who has built a house in Scotland and how did it go.

I’m retiring soon and want to build a place in the Borders.
    I’ve never done anything like it before but No1 son is a builder and his company will be helping out.

So, how did it go ?
    Tell me about

Architects ( Do I need one and if so, why ?)
    Plans , can I just buy a set for a home that I like ?
    Outside the box, I hate new builds and want something different. Think Log home or even Concrete.
    (Some of these come with plans, will they charge me full whack for secondhand plans ?)

Plots. wtaf !? what a minefield of non existent places. Can I see a place and approach the cooncil and ask if I can build there ?

As you can imagine, I need help here so for all you that have done it, thanks in advance for any info.

jam-bo

has anyone heard from global_ti recently….

lesgrandepotato

I built mine in the lakes. You need to join the build hub forum.

DickBarton

Place in France do home kits that are very nice looking log cabins. The shavings from the wood are also sent and that is used to help insulate between the logs. Not really logs though, more like tongue-and-groove wooden blocks.
    Saw a video of how it was built and reckoned I could do that, then it was just getting electrics and plumbing in. Made me think it was a straightforward process – time-consuming but looked ‘simple’ (aware it isn’t in reality).

joshvegas
    Free Member

Architects ( Do I need one and if so, why ?)

Plots. wtaf !? what a minefield of non existent places. Can I see a place and approach the cooncil and ask if I can build there ?

As you can imagine, I need help here so for all you that have done it, thanks in advance for any info.

😀

ppolski
    Free Member