Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Anyone else a bit crap at savings? Tried Moneybox app? (sort of PSA)
  • deadlydarcy
    Free Member

Just thought I’d put this out there…as I’ve been using it for a few months now and as a historically crap saver, I like it.

Moneybox – available on iOS & Android

You link whatever cards, bank accounts you want and give it permission to read the spending on your account. It then rounds up each spend to the nearest £ and takes the cumulative total each week as a (smallish) direct debit from an account of your choosing. There are plenty of tweaks available i.e. you can stick an extra few quid in whenever you want or choose which “events” are used/not used for the weekly total – e.g. for any bank transfers it automatically adds a quid…AFAIK, this can be changed…amongst others.

You can then choose between cautious, balanced and adventurous ISAs into which to invest the savings.

I don’t really tweak mine much, just let it run in the background. After a couple of months, I’m slightly impressed by how much it’s squirrelled away for me and as it’s little-and-often, I hardly notice that it’s happening.

Probably not for those of you who are financially shrewd but for anyone like me who doesn’t “enjoy” savings, it’s a nice little way of sticking something away for a rainy day. Possibly even as an add-on to save for yearly things like holidays, Christmas etc.

IHN

What are the charges on the ISA?

trail_rat
    Free Member

As I asked last time someone suggested a similar app. Is this bank approved.

If not your violating your terms and conditions by giving a third party access and may find your rights seriously affected….Think fraud protection.

Proceed with caution

deadlydarcy
    Free Member

What are the charges on the ISA?

All there on the website, as far as I can see they’re as transparent as possible but it says this:

You pay a subscription fee of £1/month (with the first 3 months free).