Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Anybody else volunteering to help with the vaccine rollout?
  • sharkbait
    Free Member

Just completing my St John Ambulance application to try and help out….. blimey, it’s very involved!
    Fair enough though I guess.
    Anybody else done the same – if so what have you been doing, or are you still waiting/training?

RobHilton
    Free Member

Sort of. I work at a CCG & GP Confederation, so my normal hours are paid, but I’m doing 12 hour shifts and the additional I’m not getting paid for.

Doing the admin side + training + planning + IT + reporting. I’m quite busy 🙂

Pyro

Same as Rob – I work in IT for a CCG supporting 95 GP Practices, so we’ve been working on this for a while, on top of everything else 🙂

gray

I’m useless and unqualified, but have signed up to volunteer to help out where I can via this thing:

https://nhsvolunteerresponders.org.uk/i-want-to-volunteer/volunteer-roles/steward-volunteer

I won’t be jabbing anyone, but at least if they need people to stand around and show patients where to go etc then I can help out.

tuboflard

Sideways involved but trying to arrange Community Transport to get those without access to a car or who can’t afford taxis and have mobility issues to vaccination sites.

beej

I’ve volunteered for marshalling at our vaccination hub. MsBeej will be working there (pharmacist) so I figured I could stand in the cold and rain and point as well as anyone.

blokeuptheroad

Yep there are a few of us, see this thread.

I’ve applied as a volunteer vaccinator via St John’s Ambulance. I’ve submitted my application and DBS forms, had a video interview and am mid way through the e-learning package. I haven’t done the face to face training yet.

I am not a medic and have no relevant qualifications bar some first aid experience, though you need 2 A levels or equivalent to apply.

gray