Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Any tune hub experts out there?
  • Premier Icon damascus
    Free Member

Hi,

My road wheels have tune hubs, princess front, Prince rear.

I’ve been running them on my bike for a few years with 11 speed shimano road cassette.

I’ve just bought a new bike and when I’ve transfered the wheels over the bottom cog is too close to the frame. I’ve put my hope gravel wheels in and they are fine.

I suspect my problem is that I’ve got a 10 speed freehub. Is there any way to tell? My freehub has a code 34142 but nothing else.

And if I but an 11 speed freehub will it fit? I’ve just done a quick Google and they aren’t cheap! Well over £100

This might turn into a stealth sale add for a pair of tune hubs in blue! 😢

Thanks

Premier Icon damascus
    Free Member

The 11 speed cassette goes on fine and tightens up OK but the chain will rub on the frame.

Tune hub

Hope hub

Premier Icon andrewh
    Free Member

Think you need a cassette expert rather than a Tune expert…
    FWIW that looks the same as my 2009 Prince, although with a different axle.
    I have had 9sp Dura Ace, XTR and PG990 on it, along with 10 speed XT if that helps anyone work out compatibility
    I can’t see a code anywhere on mine, where are you looking?
    [Edit] The second set of pictures look more like an axle length/centering issue than a freewhwe issue, almost like you need to move the axle a fraction the right. What does the other side look like with both hubs?

Premier Icon damascus
    Free Member

The code is written on the freehub

Premier Icon andrewh
    Free Member

Definitely no code on mine

Premier Icon monkeyboyjc

It’ll either be an axel or endcap issue I’d say – could the axel have been knocked?

I’d take the endcaps off knock the axel out, service/replace the bearings and put it back together and see if you have the same issue.

Premier Icon damascus
    Free Member

Just had this response from an ebay seller