Any tax experts… mileage claims

Home Forum Chat Forum Any tax experts… mileage claims

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Any tax experts… mileage claims
  • Premier Icon steveh
    Subscriber

You don’t have to do either. Your employer might request receipts from you so they can reclaim the VAT however.

Premier Icon chakaping
    Subscriber

My accountant just wants me to keep a mileage log and claim the 40p per mile from the company.

Same for my sole trader business, except I presume the log is just offset against my tax rather than me actually reclaiming it.

Obviously I’m not a tax expert, but I was doing the accounts the other day and thought it be some use.

daves mum

See I’m being told that I have to put in fuel receipts that cover the entire cost of the claim. My argument is that if I did enough miles I could get into the situation where I can’t generate enough receipts to support any claim that I make, but my employer says that this is what the law requires.

mrsflash

I’ve only ever kept a log of mileage, never been asked to produce fuel receipts – because mileage isn’t just a fuel claim, it covers wear & tear etc as well.

Premier Icon steveh
    Subscriber

It’s what your employer wants to lower the cost to him by reclaiming the VAT. Totally differnt things. I’ve claimed mileage from various companies before and now as a contractor from my own and have never produced reciepts for fuel.

daves mum

Thats another part of my argument, surely it is only right to claim VAT back on the fuel used, not the entire cost? Otherwise you could claim VAT back on servicing, insurance, etc?

daves mum

Steveh – so essentially its just so that the company can reduce their VAT bill, is that what you are saying? If so, fair enough, but surely it isn’t a legal requirement on my part?

Premier Icon steveh
    Subscriber

That’s certainly as I understand it yes.