Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Any Suggestions : Peak District?
  • sometimes52
    Free Member

Hello All,

Hoping to take a trip to the Peaks soon and don't have ay idea where to go/stay – camping.

Only been the Thetford, so looking for something a bit more demanding.
    I'm new to biking, so want something that is fun, but not to demanding.
    Whilst the other half has been to Dalby a few times, so i'm guessing he would like something with a bit more to it. Nothing too technical as his fork is a bit buggared. Something fairly fast but not overly downhill or with any major drops.

Sorry if my technical terms are a bit lame or i've written this on the wrong forum.

Cheers in advance,

Steph

mrmichaelwright
    Free Member

there's a hell of a lot more rocks then Thetford!

I'd base yourself around the Derwent valley, do a lap of the top 2 reservoirs then the bridleway up form the viaduct to crook hill, on to Lockerbrook and then down to Ouzelden Clough

there aren't any easy hills in the Peaks!

Pook

Lots in the peak –

For starters there are two very different sides to it – the White Peak and the Dark Peak.

I ride mainly in the dark peak, so Castleton, Edale, Hadfield, Totley moor kind of way. It can be technical or straightforward – around Ladybower is a good place to start if you're thinking of that kind of stuff, and also, you get the wonderful Cut Gate Path too.

Kramer
    Free Member

Nothing too technical as his fork is a bit buggared. Something fairly fast but not overly downhill or with any major drops.

You probably want to be around the White Peak then, Chatsworth, Bakewell, Darley Bridge area. Lovely riding, but fairly straightforward.

jamesgarbett
    Free Member
    Kramer
    Free Member

I'd suggest that what a Dark Peak regular would describe as not too technical may well be considered very technical indeed by a relative beginner.

sometimes52
    Free Member

Thanks for all the input so far.