Any professional highway engineers on here?

Home Forum Chat Forum Any professional highway engineers on here?

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Any professional highway engineers on here?
  • project

lots of stupid and dangerous road designs out there all designed by the people who write those design guides.

Premier Icon bails
    Subscriber

Are you on twitter? Is it bike related? If so, contact this guy: https://twitter.com/rantyhighwayman

Premier Icon aracer
    Subscriber

Not trying to be all coy and dripfeed, but it’s not at all related to bikes and all about interpretation of guidelines – I really need direct input from somebody who can look at the particular situation. To be honest a lawyer may be better than a highways design engineer, but it seems its the highways engineers who get to speak with authority on this – I’m looking to dispute the opinion of one.

Premier Icon crispo
    Subscriber

I’m a grad civil engineer currently working on a new build road scheme.

I’m not a local authority engineer but we are working with the council and I know where to find most of the design specs if its related to that. I will try and help if I can!

Premier Icon honeybadgerx
    Subscriber

How much of an opinion are you wanting? If you’re wanting a full and professional one to enter a formal dispute then realistically you’re going to have approach an engineering consultancy with a highways department and get some advice from them.

EDIT: This will cost you money.

Premier Icon schnor
    Subscriber

Definitely what honeybadgerx said, if you’re thinking about entering into a dispute against your Highways Department (or even after a second opinion), then an engineering consultancy / chartered surveyor – depending on what exactly the problem is – should 100% be your next step.