Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Any electricians in the house?
  • thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

I’m about to re-wire my garage to put some sockets nearer where I actually want them and add some outdoor sockets.

Circuit breaker for the garage is 20A, but there are spare 32A and 40A breakers. I want to use wiring suitable for the 40A if possible so it can be swapped over at some point. Otherwise I’d just match what’s there.

So what wire do I need to use for a 30m ring main around the garage (10m long, 1car wide) , its reasonable to assume I might want to put all the load at the furthest point (E.g. chainsaw and leaf blower both plugged in to the far outside socket).

phil5556

At a guess the standard 2.5 mm but I’m no electrician. Also technically I don’t think you’re allowed to make connections to the distribution board.

ajaj
    Free Member

https://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Technical/Charts/VoltageDrop.html

Not to be taken as an endorsement of the plan.

tjagain

Errmmm – get proper advice.  A standard ring main can only use 32amp breakers.  What on earth are you going to be doing in there that you want 40 amps?

Do you have a secondary consumer unit in the garage?  What is that connected to if so – a breaker in the main consumer unit or direct to the supply?  What amperage is that supply to the garage rated to?  What size wire?

To me what you want to do seems like a recipe for burning your house down

simmoz
    Free Member

40a is a a lot! Bearing in mind some houses only have a 60a main fuse.

I would get you local electrician in for some advice.

There is a lot more to think about than just what wire size I.e do you have rcd protection, exporting the pme to an outbuilding, discrimination between protective devices in the garage and house

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Main consumer unit is in the garage, and has a 100A feed. Theres no problems there TJ!