Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 93 total)
  • Anxiety and Depression
  • thaneofcawdor
    Free Member

I’m a regular on here but I’ve created a new account so I can speak freely on this topic.

I’m going to give a bit of history (skip it if you like) then my problem, then ask for some advice…

History…

I’m in my 40s and I’ve suffered from depression my whole life, at least partly as a result of an upbringing which left me with very low self-esteem and difficulties forming relationships. I made a suicide attempt in young adulthood but most of the time these days I function OK, and have had little time off work over the years.

I have a very loving and understanding partner and two great kids, all of whom are a source of joy to me.

The problem…

For the second Sunday in a row, I’ve woken up very down and very anxious, with “butterflies” in my stomach, irritable and with low energy.

It’s work (I’m a teacher) that is making me feel like this, knowing the stuff I’ve got to do for Monday.

I could change jobs, but it would then be my third school in a year. I have to accept that it’s not any particular school that makes me depressed and anxious; it’s just the job. Unfortunately, I don’t know another way of earning this salary, and the benefits (holidays, pension) that come with it. Furthermore, I’m considered a good teacher and my students have always had good results.

The bottom line is, I feel like I’m running out of steam in my career. I hate going in, I hate marking books and filling in spreadsheets. I find maintaining relationships with my colleagues exhausting. But realistically I’m going to be at the chalk face for another ten years, if I make it that long. I need to get myself into a place mentally and emotionally to cope with this. I’ve always resisted antidepressant medication, but my mental health is getting worse these days rather than better, so I’m prepared to give them a try.

So, I need to ask you lovely people…