Viewing 35 posts - 1 through 35 (of 35 total)
  • Aluminium vs Carbon Full Suspension MTB
  • soobalias
    Free Member

What are the pros and cons of each?

Does carbon resist rock strikes sufficiently? Does it suffer from cable rub just like a Alu frame? Is there any noticable ride quality difference (aside from weight*) or is it all hidden by plush shocks and large tyres?
    *Is there even a weight difference or is it just blingyness

5thElefant
    Free Member

Does carbon resist rock strikes sufficiently?

Yes.

Does it suffer from cable rub just like a Alu frame?

Yes.

Is there any noticable ride quality difference (aside from weight*) or is it all hidden by plush shocks and large tyres?

Hard to say in isolation. I’ll go for no.

Is there even a weight difference or is it just blingyness

Yes.

I’ve been using carbon frames for 15+ years. I haven’t broken one, or any carbon component. I have broken aluminium frames and seat posts.

cynic-al
    Free Member

What he said apart from anecdotal breakage comments.

It’s about the individual bike, not material.

wrecker
    Free Member

The only bike I have ever warrantied (and I have owned a few…) was a carbon santa cruz. Just for balance.

joeegg
    Free Member

Talking to a friend who is a frame designer he said his company was looking to bring out a carbon full suss.
    The weight difference between the alu and carbon frame was less than 300g but the investment costs to start producing carbon frames to their design were huge.He just couldn’t see the point and it was actually about marketing because they didn’t have a carbon bike in their range.

Kryton57

I got put down in another thread for racing an Aluminium bike. Therefore Carbon must of course be better. 8)

z1ppy

the usually stated advantage of carbon nowadays (in non-XC circles) is not significant weight loss, but increased strength with a small added weight loss,.

The only bikes I ever warranted were Ali, & I’ve owned a few.. 😯

julians