Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Advice on what fork to get for 35kg 9yo
  • mrbigglesworth
    Free Member

Am doing a bike build with my son – just turned 9, tall for his age and around 35kg. It’s going on a 27.5 Brand x frame.

Now, go easy here, because I’m still learning but I want to do this to make him a bit more hands on and he is keen too, but I’m learning as I go too (not done so much on bikes myself, but cars, general diy etc).

So overall requirement is 27.5 fork, 120mm travel, light (I think 2kg is around the max). Something that actually will work at a low weight too – and from what I have read that means I’m thinking an air fork that I’m going to need to change the oils to better tune it. And happy to go 2nd hand as there are budget considerations (trying to keep it under £100 and pref lower the better) and do a diy service at the same if going to change oils.

Probably best to stop there for advice as to whether I’m on the right track or not…. If I am ….

Other considerations are I have some 9mmQR 26 inch wheels that I’m going to start him on so would be great to not have to change that to a 15×100 front. I suppose I would like it to be on his bike for a little while as hoping to get a good few years out of this bike, but in around 3-4 years, I could throw it on the younger’s future bike build and he can upgrade etc. Kind of things I have seen and thought about are Suntour Raidons, Rockshox TK air models….

Really appreciate both general advice and guidance as well as suggestions for the right kind of fork etc.

akira

In an ideal world you’d get a coil fork as they are plusher and would give you better small hit sensitivity, but getting springs for low weights isn’t very easy.
    I’d get the best air rock shox with aluminium stantions you can find. Before brexit you could find bargains in Europe. Reba would be good if you can get one.

mrbigglesworth
    Free Member