Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Achy legs – commuting content
  • billytinkle
    Free Member

I commute by bike 5 days a week. It’s a 22 mile round trip with approximately 1200ft of climbing. I’ve been doing this for about 18 months.

I really enjoy it, but towards the end of the week my legs are feeling decidedly achy and I feel like I just want to find a lower and lower gear.

I eat fairly healthy foods I think and have a nesquick milkshake after the ride home, but is there anything I could be doing to help with leg muscle recovery?

cyclistm
    Free Member

Are you drinking enough water?

mogrim

I really enjoy it, but towards the end of the week my legs are feeling decidedly achy and I feel like I just want to find a lower and lower gear.

I eat fairly healthy foods I think and have a nesquick milkshake after the ride home, but is there anything I could be doing to help with leg muscle recovery?

The way you say “I feel like I just want to find a lower and lower gear” it’s almost as if you’re embarrassed to do this – don’t be. Take Friday easy, as a reward for the hard week you’ve done.

billytinkle
    Free Member

I drink pleanty of water at work – enough to make sure my waters run clear.

I’m not embarrassed to find a lower gear, but there are none left!

dooosuk
    Free Member

My legs feel like this by the time I’m at the end of my road on a Monday morning 🙁

Had my bloods checked but all OK apparently. Doc told me to load up on Vit D (I forget the reason) and go back in 3mths if no change.

I think you’re doing fine.

ElVino

I have a similar distance, you may not want to do it but the best thing might be to take Wednesday off. It will allow you to maintain high intensity on the 4 days you do the commute and adapt on the days off. If I do every day the cycle home on Thursday is usually a killer and 5 days in a row doesn’t make me feel like doing much at the w/e

buck53