Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Aching hands; new bars required?
  • rhayter

No matter what glove/grip combo I’ve tried, my hands ache like buggery within about 30 minutes of a ride – but only in that-bit-where-your-thumb-meets-your-palm (can you tell I’m not a doctor?).

Anyone else had similar problems? Do I need a bar with a different sweep? Was it merely too much of a death grip? Or should I just rotate my bars around a bit? I’ve never had this problem with any other bike… And I’ve had a few…

GW
    Free Member

aching “like buggery” sounds harsh, I’d just give up altogether i I were you.

rhayter

OK, I retract the “like buggery” bit… but my hands still ache…

deserter
    Free Member

I’ve had nothing but hand problems over the years, grip and posture{strengthen core} are the only fixes I’ve found, thrown lots of money at it but only get mild relief at best without concentrating on the physical stuff

my probs though have been more around the outer pad on my hand[pins and needles etc} doing xc and then my fingers swelling when doing downhill

prezet
    Free Member

Loosen grip, run a bit less pressure in your tyres/forks to dampen the vibrations a bit

Whathaveisaidnow
    Free Member

I’m assuming you’ve tried Spesh gloves they seem to have the palm padding, ulner nerve thing covered?

coupled with a carbon bar?

mattmbk
    Free Member

I’ve suffered with this problem for years and after much trying and failing I find the thinnest glove and thinnest grip combo works best for me. Odi Ruffians and gloves with zero padding. Winter is tricky but I managed to find a thinner than usual glove. Works for me.

euanr
    Free Member