Accountants – why would a company fail to file accounts?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Accountants – why would a company fail to file accounts?
  • Premier Icon tomd
    Subscriber

I’m doing a bit of background digging on a private Ltd company. Medium sized outfit, company name has been around a long time but current Ltd co since 2007. It is owned but a major international comglomerate but has different brand etc.

On companies house their accounts are 2 months overdue. Is there any earthly ligit reason why this would be the case? My superficial understanding is that it is actually illegal and earns a fine. I could sort of understand for a one man band ltd co but for a proper company seems odd.

I’ll ask them when I speak to them but want to avoid being fobbed off. It would be nice to see the last years accounts to judge how they’re getting on.

grantyboy

I work as an senior accountant for a ‘proper’ company. We are sometimes late in filling, usually down to audits overrunning and lack of manpower etc in balancing day to day running the business and doing the statutory needful

P-Jay

I’m not an accountant, but I used to work in a practice. I’m also a former Credit Underwriter in the B2B market.

It happens ‘fairly’ often.

99% of the time it’s as above, a combination of normal logistical stuff, human error or shit happens. Yes it’s a legal requirement, but it’s not a criminal offence and the fines are relatively small. £150 – £3000 depending on how late if and whether the previous years accounts were late.

Maybe 1% of the time it’s for something more serious, if I had my underwritters hat on I’d want to know why they hadn’t filed by now (it’s getting on for a year since their year-end) and I might be less inclined to take much comfort from draft accounts, depending on previous performance / risk of lend.

Premier Icon tomd
    Subscriber