Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • 29ers "….. now that the geometry is sorted"
  • maccruiskeen

There seems to be an oft-spouted phase in friendly arguments about 29ers: ‘now that the geometry is sorted’

Had my Titus X stolen just as the last of the frames in my size (huge) sold out. I’m a triggers-broom bike builder, I’ve not bought a whole bike since I was in primary school, I’ve always been a collector and bodger togetherer of bits. (it actually leaves me quite unexcited by the prospect of getting a whole, complete replacement bike)

Its meant I’ve never given thought to 29ers as theres not really a way to evolve to them from 26″

Now that I’ve got a clean slate I’m giving 29 a thought but I’ve not really followed the discussion up til now. Now that I am that phrase keeps popping up.

So which are the bikes for which geometry is now ‘sorted’, or, if its a shorter list – which are/where the bikes that didn’t have the geometry sorted?

mikewsmith
    Free Member

‘now that the geometry is sorted’

This would be why the magic figures quoted for 26″ bikes evolves like the sport does to suit the awesomeness of the riders changes every year. I would take a small guess that the geometry of all bikes will continue to change over the years to come

brant
    Free Member

I think, one of the funny things that happened when 29ers were developing was that 29er designers tried to make 29er bikes handle the same as 26in bikes, right before the point when 26in bikes were getting slacker and more relaxed.

roverpig