Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • 29er wheel obstacles
  • Premier Icon dyna-ti
    Free Member

What height of obstacle with a 29er wheel easily ride over ?, as in without stopping dead or thereabouts.
    I’m kind of new to 29er and hitting lumpy rocks im just wondering what it will ride reasonably smoothly over as im more use to a 26″ . Fork is a 160mm.
    It’s all new to me and I’d rather not get pitched off.

Premier Icon reeksy
    Free Member

Erm… it depends on a fair number of variables – not just the size of the wheel but the force propelling it, the weight of the wheel, the surface type and traction.

Trial and error.

If you’re worried about getting pitched off, maybe MTB isn’t ready for you yet?

Premier Icon intheborders
    Free Member

You’ll know when it’s too big…

Premier Icon nickjb
    Free Member

Its pretty big. A lot will depend on where your weight is and what speed you have but if you are centred or back it’ll sail over some pretty large lumps. Try it, ideally somewhere safe. Ride at a log or set up a pile of pallets or bricks in the garden

Premier Icon droplinked

I don’t ride any differently between my 27.5 and 29er bikes. You just end up carrying a touch more speed.

Still weight/unweight, brace for hits, lift the wheel etc, just the same.

I never think “Oh I won’t bother bracing for that rock as I’m on a 29”.

Premier Icon nickjb
    Free Member

Probably not when barrelling down a hill but I might think that I’ll have a go at that rock step or see if I can get over that log.

Premier Icon matt_outandabout

Make sure measure those trail obstacles before your ride over them.

Premier Icon cookeaa

83.62mm exactly…

Premier Icon DrP

no.
    they’ve got a 160mm fork.
    so you can ride effortlessly over a 160mm obstacle.

NEXT.

DrP

Premier Icon steve_b77
    Free Member

Premier Icon dc1988
    Free Member