Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 302 total)
  • 29er adoption resistance theory
  • charliedontsurf

My theory on 29er adoption resistance. Inspired to spew this down as “the great 29er debate” still goes on, and I am now tired of it.

I have been selling or rather trying to sell 29ers since 2006 ish. They attracted a lot of criticism in the early days, and some of it was justified at the time. Now 29ers are dialled and the old complaints are no longer valid, but they still echo on in forums, hillsides and maybe some mags. They actually made some people angry, they hated the idea, jibes, heckling, insults… it was a sort of cycling rascism. Total strangers at afan shouting “you wont be able to ride down this on that”. (imagine hanging around a golf course and shouting at tall strangers with longer golf bats as they are about to take a swing) But why would someone else riding a bike with different wheels upset people so much?

For 20 plus years we had been sold a single format, a bit like vinyl records. All the media, retail, and manufacturing was inline. Whenever something new came along it was generally retro-fit-able to your existing bike. So when MBUK showed you a flex stem you simply swapped stems, added a suspension fork, bar ends, club roost riser bars, SPD pedals, purple in general… Etc. “how can I fit suspension forks to my bike?”…. ” not a problem sir, just leave it and a wad of money with me, pick it up Tuesday” . Although these tech developments had their haters they were pretty much universally adopted pretty damned quickly.