Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • £1,000 29er required
  • JefWachowchow
    Free Member

Friend of mine is getting into riding off road. I have taken him out with borrowed bikes and he is now looking to get his own. £1,000 to spend courtesy of the cycle scheme (yes he will be using it to commute as far as the railway station) and he is restricted to Evans.
    Initially I had suggested a large Kona Taro (he is a big lad, bout 6’3″ goes by the nickname of Mungo or Johnny big potatoes) as the larger wheels will look normal. The Taro was suggested as it doesn’t look like a focussed XC bike but more like a good fun all round trail bike, but it now appears it is over budget. I have no experience with 29″ wheels and am under 6′ so can any of you Clydesdales out there help please?
    Short list are;

Charge Cooker 2013
    http://www.evanscycles.com/products/charge/cooker-2013-mountain-bike-ec042785

Norco Nitro 9.2
    http://www.evanscycles.com/products/norco/nitro-92-2013-mountain-bike-ec041202

Rockhopper Pro
    http://www.evanscycles.com/products/specialized/rockhopper-pro-2013-mountain-bike-ec042246

Pinnacle Ramin 3
    http://www.evanscycles.com/products/pinnacle/ramin-3-2013-mountain-bike-ec044228

The Pinnacle actually looks to be the slackest so closer to the Taro / easier for beginners to attain confidence, good forks and Shimano brakes rather than the elixir 1’s (yuk)found on many at this price. The bike snob in me is resisting the Pinnacle but should it be??

If any of you cats out there have either of these, I would love to know your opinions

Thank you 😀

ads678

Cats, really, is it still the 50’s?

Norco looks the best to me, Pinnacle looks good as well though, The other 2 look awful!

JefWachowchow
    Free Member

The paint on the spesh is a bit minging, quite like the Charge though, maybe its just the skin wall tyres swaying me. They were all the rage in the 50’s don’t you know.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition