Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Y Reg Polo GTI
  • bagpuss72
    Free Member

I’m fed up of chucking money at an ‘intermittent electrical fault’ keeps just slowing down and stopping as petrol gets cut off as fault on cylinder 4, the fault is cleared using their hand held computers then it happens again, I’ve had a crank sensor, coil pack etc etc

Anyone else got an older GTI Polo or Golf apparently its something happens?

bagpuss72
    Free Member

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78b67l_yxUc[/video]

herusix
    Free Member

I would try a different garage if you haven’t already.
    I’m no expert but it sounds like it’s going into a ‘limp home’ mode to protect the engine.
    I have come across several different Vw/Audi cars that have problems with faulty coil packs(TT & A2 spring to mind)
    might be worth investing in a cheap fault code reader so at least when it happens you can check to see if it’s the same fault code occurring and a lot of the readers available will let you clear fault codes as well.

jam-bo

My old golf gti used to die randomly until I replaced the ECU relay. Cost £12, ran perfectly for another 50,000 before I scrapped it.

DaveyBoyWonder
    Free Member

Out of the numerous problems my old Polo GTI had, this wasn’t one of them! Most of my issues centered around the lumps of cheese they call a gearbox in the 6N2. I’d have another though – excellent cars!

As above, I’d take it to another garage. Sounds like an error they’re just clearing on vagcom but if its recurring it must be a sensor or something maybe.

bagpuss72
    Free Member

Thanks for the suggestions I’ll try the leads etc!!

lalazar
    Free Member

A mate of mine had a similar problem car kept cutting out randomly .

It turned out to be the immobiliser switch on the fuel pump and was an easy fix. Was also a VW but Passat 96 model.

bagpuss72
    Free Member