Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • XTR on an Inbred* Syndrome
  • nickc

Weird.

I’ve been riding mountain bikes for 20 years or so now, and in that time I’ve had a handful of decent top of the range bits and pieces, a couple of XTR rear mechs, one second hand, one a present to myself, and a pair of XTR shifters. Few bits of XO when it first hit the shelves. In the position now of being able to spec out a new bike build with pretty much what I want, don’t need to compromise, don’t need to skimp, thing is, now I look at the frames that I want to build (LT Hardtails) and none of them really ‘deserve’ XTR, know what I mean?

Sorry, long winded, should I, just once screw the cost and just build one bike…no expense spared? Or should I just be sensible, knowing that SLX and XT will more or less be just the same, last just as long, and just enjoy the view.

* It’s not going on an an Inbred BTW, just rolls off the tongue better than “The frame I want costs more or less the same as the chainset, and I’m having angst about it ’cause I’ve never spent this much money on a bike, and the end figure is pretty impressive”

RealMan
    Free Member

I was in the same situation as you (sort of), and basically built up a bike I’d never want to upgrade. It had XT on it. That was about 4 years ago now. It still has the same XT on it. XTR is lovely stuff, but silly money really.

RustySpanner

Custom frame?

Or, if you like it and can afford it, stick XTR on whatever the hell you like – lots of lovely 853 hardtails out there. 🙂

nuke

I balk at the cost of ‘consumables’ on my XT drivetrain – chain, cassette, etc…no way I’d justify to myself the cost of XTR.

…but it’s up to you: if you want it, get it

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

My view is this.

No ‘average rider’ needs XTR. If you accept that then say, “stuff it…. I WANT IT for no reason at all” then crack on. Fill yer boots I say! 🙂

deserter
    Free Member

I change my frames a lot more than mechs and shifters